Home > Participants > Georgia


Georgia

Participants

Andronikashvilli Institute of Physics

Vekua Sukhumi Institute of Physics and Technology (SIPT)

The crucial thing is to hang onto your specialists (Nodar Kekelidze, Manager, CNCP “Gas odoriser” project, Sukhumski Physical and Technical Institute, Tbilisi), 2012

This was absolutely our first experience of commercialisation (Nelly Sapozhnikova, Manager of CNCP project «Biochips for the diagnosis of bacteria and viruses», Andronikashvili Institute of Physics, Tbilisi), 2012


(jpg, 32 Mb)

Republic of Georgia is located in the South-East of Europe and stretches over the central and Western parts of Transcaucasia. It boarders with Russia in the North, in the East - with Azerbaijan and in the South with Armenia and Turkey. The Western coast is washed by the Black See. The total area is 69,700 sq. km. Population is about 4 400 000 people.

Tbilisi (before 1936 it had been called Tiflis, in old Georgian - Tfilisi) the capital of Georgia is situated in the valley of the river Kura in the Caucasus mountains. It received its name because of the worm sulfur springs (the word "tbili" means warm). The population of the city is about 1,35 mln. people.

Archeological findings prove that this territory was inhabited in IV century B.C. First record of Persian fortress which was located on the territory of modern Tbilisi is referred to IV century A.D. As a city Tbilisi is mentioned in the records of IV century.

Mechanical engineering (manufacture of machines, electric locomotives, devices, agricultural vehicles, electro-technical and aviation industries), light industry (textile, lether-shoe manufacture), food industry (wine-making, growing of fruit and vegetables and tobacco industry), wood processing, glass and porcelain- faience industry, chemical and chemical-pharmaceutical and printing industries are well developed in the city.

There is an Academy of sciences of Georgia, 11 High educational Institutions (3 Universities and a conservatory), 14 theatres, more than 20 museums and a Botanic garden.

The Institutes dealing with the nuclear physics are Institute of Physics named after E. Andronikashvili and Sukhumy Institute of Physics and Technology (SIFT) named after I. Vekua.

Institute of Physics named after E. Andronikashvili was founded in 1951. In 1959 a research nuclear reactor was commissioned (stopped in the 90s). The Institute dealt with the issues related to the creation of pulse nuclear reactor. Main areas of activity - fundamental research in the field of low temperature processes, cosmic rays and elementary particles, radiation material science, physics of plasma and biophysics as well as applied research, radioecology, contamination monitoring.

Sukhumy Institute of Physics and Technology named after I. Vekua was set up in 1945. First tasks the Institute had to fulfill were connected with the separation of Uranium isotopes for creation of the Soviet nuclear weapons. Since 50-s different directions of nuclear science and technologies have been developed actively. Main areas of activity are - physics of plasma, nuclear fusion; thermoelectric transformations; applied radio physics, detection of radiation and mass spectrometry.

| Home | About CNCP | Participants | Projects | Partnerships | News | Training | Library | Photogallery | Links | Contacts |

Главная > Участники Программы > Грузия



Грузия

Участники Программы

Институт физики им. Э.Андроникашвили

Сухумский физико-технический институт (СФТИ) им. И. Векуа

Главное - сохранить кадры (Нодар Кекелидзе, руководитель проекта «Одоризаторы», Сухумский физико-технический институт, Тбилиси), 2012 год

Коммерциализация - это для нас абсолютно первый опыт (Нелли Сапожникова, руководитель проекта «Биочипы для бактериальной и вирусной диагностики», Институт физики им. Андроникашвили, Тбилиси), 2012 год


(jpg, 32 Mb)

Республика Грузия находится на юго-востоке Европы
и занимает центральную и западную часть Закавказья. Граничит на севере с Россией, на востоке с Азербайджаном, на юге с Арменией и Турцией. На западе омывается Чёрным морем. Общая площадь
69,7 тыс. кв. км. Население около 4,4 млн. человек.

Тбилиси (до 1936 года – Тифлис, старогрузинское название – Тфилиси), столица Грузии, расположен в долине реки Кура в горах Кавказа. Своё название он получил из-за тёплых серных источников (в переводе
с грузинского "тбили" – "тёплый"). Население города примерно 1,35 млн. человек.

Археологические находки показывают, что эту территорию люди населяли еще в IV веке до н.э., первое упоминание крепости персов на месте современного Тбилиси относится к IV веку н.э. Как город в летописях Тбилиси впервые упоминается в IV веке.

В столице Грузии развиты машиностроение (производство станков, электровозов, приборов, сельскохозяйственных машин; электротехническая, авиационная отрасли), легкая (текстильная, кожевенно-обувная), пищевая (винодельческая, плодоовощная, табачная), деревообрабатывающая, стеклянная и фарфоро-фаянсовая, химическая и химико-фармацевтическая, полиграфическая отрасли промышленности.

В Тбилиси находятся Академия наук Грузии, 11 вузов (3 университета, консерватория), 14 театров, свыше 20 музеев, Ботанический сад.

Вопросами ядерной физики в стране занимаются Институт физики им. Э. Андроникашвили и Сухумский физико-технический институт (СФТИ) им. И. Векуа.

Институт физики им. Э. Андроникашвили основан в 1951 году. В 1959 году введён в эксплуатацию исследовательский ядерный реактор (в 90-х остановлен). Институт занимался вопросами создания импульсного ядерного реактора. Основные направления деятельности – фундаментальные работы в области низкотемпературных процессов, исследования космических лучей и элементарных частиц, радиационное материаловедение, физика плазмы и биофизика; прикладные физические исследования, радиоэкология, мониторинг загрязнений.

Сухумский физико-технический институт им. И. Векуа основан в 1945 году. Первые задачи, которые решал институт, - разделение изотопов урана для создания советского ядерного оружия. С 50-х годов активно развивались различные направления ядерной науки и техники. Основные направления деятельности: физика плазмы и управляемый термоядерный синтез; термоэлектрические преобразования; прикладная радиофизика, детектирование излучений, масс-спектрография.

Использованы материалы сайтов:
www.spinform.ru
http://ru.wikipedia.org
http://krugosvet.org/countries/Georgia/Tbilisi.html
http://www.geo-tour.net/Maps/Maps.htm

| Главная | О Программе | Участники | Проекты | Партнеры | Новости | Обучение | Библиотека | Фотогалерея | Ссылки | Контакты |